Home Page

The Helen Crow Award

Each academic year in the Summer Term a competition is held for the children for 'The Helen Crow Award' to commemorate a very valued member of our staff, Mrs Crow, who died very unexpectedly in 2000. All age groups take part and a winner is selected from each year group or class.  An overall winner is then selected and their name is engraved on a special plaque.


The theme changes every year and all the children complete individual pieces of work. Staff choose the two best pieces of work from different classes to their own class to make it fair.  Choosing the class winner and the overall winner of the Helen Crow award is always a very hard task for the Chair of Governors. The theme for 2015/16 was Brazil, as the 2016 Olympics were due to be held in Rio de Janerio.


Some of the children's work for the competition is also showcased at the Shiremoor Treat, where the school often wins one of the Art Shields.


School year 2015/16 winners were: 

Nursery:  Erin Campbell


Reception: Scarlett Ungurs


Year 1:  Ella Walsh


Year 2:  Lily King


Year 3: Danii-Lei Milburn


Year 4 and overall winner for 2015/16: Demi-Leigh George


Year 5: Robert McKinnon


Year 6: Talen Thompson


Another year the theme was taking a favourite story or genre of writing and painting, drawing or sewing in a variety of different styles. One year everyone had an exciting time designing and making masks.The children wore their masks to a Masquerade Ball. Another year we all had an 'eggcellent' time making a special Easter egg - look at some of the winners below...

Picture 1 Overall Winner 2015
Picture 2 Overall Winner 2014
Picture 3 Helen Crow Hall Display 2014
Picture 4 All 2012-13 winners
Picture 5 Former Helen Crow Winners
Picture 6 Mrs Crow's Memorial Clock
Picture 7 Our Memorial Bench in the Entrance Porch
Picture 8 The Chair of Governors judging some of the masks
Picture 9 Looking at the eggs for the Helen Crow Award
We've had 1 7 8 0 3 Visitors